She

Summer bright day and her standing right there

Me walking to a stranger and talking of weather

Holding her veil and sipping coffee in a diner,

Wondering to myself if fate had been kinder

The infectious laughter, teasing, twinkling eyes

Telling me her name, shyly asking for mine

Never before had such thoughts struck my mind

She was the girl I would walk down the aisle.

Holding my hand and squeezing it tight

Leading me out into a brand new light

Jerking awake amidst a moon strike

She, a dream I had dreamt all night.

Leave a Reply

