Darkness

I was thinking about darkness today because I decided I will blindfold myself and fold my clothes. Now folding clothes is a pretty simple thing, it does not really require your eyesight. If you do your own laundry and fold your clothes you will know what I mean, I’m sure. Today I realized, that folding clothes is probably not as easy as it looks. Or rather, I realized that our eyes are way more important than we give them credit for.

I have always taken my body, and myself for granted because to me even when my eye sight started diminishing, it was still more or less a constant. But think about the fact, that what if it wasn’t. So, back to folding clothes. It is not dramatic to say that closing your eyes does give you perspective. I could feel my clothes and recognize them by texture, I always knew I could but I imagined their colour as I folded them into rightful piles. I also realized that I could imagine colour but there are so many people who can’t. There are people who know what real darkness is. When you are young and the light goes off, you are scared and you look for your parents. Imagine, there are people who all their lives have known nothing but darkness. They don’t know if red is different from blue or yellow or beige. Forget about the shades of colour, there are people who don’t even have a concept of colour.

I have come to realize, we don’t miss what we don’t know. So I am sure that for all the people who have never seen anything, they don’t know what they are missing. But we do. Don’t we? So, I just want to say, use your eyes, ears, nose, tongue and skin well because there is someone who doesn’t actually have all of these. If you are lucky in life, your sight will be with you for a long long time, and so with your hearing, but chances are they will eventually fade. The truth is, our bodies grow old. That is why they say, you are as old as you think you are. All I am saying is, treat yourself well. Take yourself for a walk because you don’t have arthritis yet and you can walk. Have some dessert once in a while as you don’t yet suffer from diabetics. See the beauty around you, and the beasts and the tragedies because you have your eyes. Hear all the sounds, not just the music but of door creaking, the muffled voices, the TV mindlessly playing because you have the gift of hearing. Live people. Once in a while, just look at yourself and say thank you because believe it or not. You are amazing. All of us are amazing. Imagine your human body, think about your 7th grade biology when they taught you about all systems in your body (respiratory, excretory, reproductive, circulatory etc) Isn’t it freaking amazing? Don’t you think you are amazing? I do, all of you. Or at least physiologically amazing :P. What you do with your morals and your body is you, and that’s what makes you ugly or beautiful.

I leave you with two thoughts now:

1. My old friend used to say to me, “Beauty is a simple reality seen with the eyes of love”. I have never forgotten these words because it allows me to see beauty in everything.

2. There is this exhibition/workshop which you all should explore if it is in your town. I went for it once and it is brilliant. It is called “Dialogue in the dark“. Check it out and if you are lucky it would be in your city.

P.S. I did not manage to fold my clothes blindfolded. Eyes matter even when we don’t realize that they do matter.

P.S.S. This post is not intended to piss people off who have any bodily abnormality. I am sorry if there is anyone who gets offended reading this.

Leave a Reply

