Our lives: TV shows?

We are blessed with dreams and I just don’t mean the night time dreams our subconscious conjures while we are sound asleep. I mean, also the day dreams and dream/aspirations humans have. I just started thinking about alternative endings or rather alternative lives. Our dreams change during the course of our lives. The dreams change in accordance to the previous dream’s fulfillment or non-fulfillment. What i mean to say is, and here I would quote JK Rowling:

“The consequence of our actions are so complicated, so diverse that predicting the future is a very difficult business indeed.”

I am just generalizing this to mean, that the fulfillment of our dreams would lead into a chain of events that makes it impossible for us to predict the future. I think we might be living in alternative realities. Meaning, if one event, one maybe quite a normal and plain event did not happen in our lives, we would have just missed out on something great or terrible. There is a fallacy called: “Hypothesis contrary to fact” which means:

“From a statement of fact, the argument draws a counterfactual claim (i.e. a claim about what would have been true if the stated fact were not true). The argument falsely assumes that any state of affairs can have only one possible cause.”

Now, why am i stating this? For the same reason I am saying that one fulfillment of dream could have changed our lives. That is not logical. I cannot predict what I don’t know to be true. I was talking about dreams though and where they could potentially lead us if they were to come true. I was just sitting and day dreaming today when I realized, anyone who I had loved should love me because I love unconditionally. That’s at least how I feel about my love for people but yet, I have managed to be alone all this while. I couldn’t understand why.

I realized then, maybe it is okay if dreams don’t come true. There are always alternative endings in a tv show and similarly our lives have alternate paths. I don’t think there is such a thing as destiny. I really think there is a thing as choices. If you believe in destiny, you cannot believe in choice. I like to have an option, so I believe in choice. I think there are a million ways our lives can change, I think we have the power to choose which way is our way. Most importantly, I think it is possible to have alternate realities where different decisions led to different consequences. Then again, I believe in not putting too much faith in one decision. I think life is a journey, what matters is the path you take, not just the turn.
Saying that, I was thinking that maybe someday one of my dreams would come true. Even though they don’t I can always have an alternate ending. (:

Leave a Reply

