What makes you happy

I have been a little grumpy for the past few days and I could not understand why. I just stepped away from my life for a minute, not stepping into anyone’s shoes, just away from my life and I looked at my life as a spectator and I realized why I was grumpy. Just looking at it, I realized I was more unhappy than I had been on the miserablest of days. (And yes, miserablest is a word now.) I could not think why I was so unhappy. For the past few days, I have been getting this feeling of self doubt, discomfort and uneasiness. It is as if something is completely wrong with my life and then I realized, there indeed is. 

So, getting back to my title “What makes you happy”. As you would have noticed there is no question mark at the end, just because this is not a question you should ask but more like a statement of which you should have knowledge of. To me, believing in something, working towards something, having something to look forward to, makes me really happy. Just existing in a rut, even a happy one is not good enough or rather it is not good enough any more. My simple belief in life is, if you are doing things that make you happy, you will never spend a single day in your life regretting it. Happiness removes regret, it gets rid of it. It makes you guilt-free. True happiness is simple, not complicated (same way, good relationships are simple). Simple things cause happiness, difficult things cause satisfaction and as much as those things could be related, they are not the same. Happiness != Satisfaction and vice-versa. 

We all know what makes us unhappy, or at least most people should. Reflect. Look inside your heart, your soul. Find your unhappiness and build life around changing that state. If you are a human, you will not remain happy for too long. Always keep working to be happy. Work towards your happiness. Some people need to. Or I think most people need to, some just know how to work towards it more easily. If you are someone who is in love with the wrong person, change that fact today. You may ask how, just look yourself in the mirror and decide. I am done with this guy/girl. I will not think about it. Dreams are good. But they are hard, so maybe some dreams you should let go if letting go of them makes you happy. 

If you are someone who is tired of being lazy. Decide today to not be. Clean your room, wash your clothes, clear everything. Throw away the things that make you unhappy. Don’t not change just because you are scared of change. Change could be good. Think of that ridiculous haircut that everyone loved. Change is not always bad. It is the only constant. Accept it. Breathe it. Move on. Don’t expect happiness to come from external sources, first create those sources in the least. Talk to people. Find what makes you happy. 

People say, happiness and success comes from doing the things you love. If you don’t always get to do the things you love, you have two options: 

1. Either change what you are doing. 

2. Or love the things you are doing. (I know this sounds stupid, but if you don’t get to do the things that you love, you just start loving the things you do get to do. easy. not really.)

I am sick of being miserable, and so should anyone who is miserable should be. If you are still mourning anything months after it happened, let it go. Be happy. Find happiness. Find your calm. Find yourself. Don’t ever stop looking.

Leave a comment