The one that got away

Once you go through high school or college you realize that there is something or somebody that got away. It doesn’t necessarily need to be a person, it might just be something that you really wanted that never worked out. There’s always a path you did not take, the path that you could have taken. The path that could have given you everything you wanted. That one path that would have made all ends meet. We all regret that we didn’t get that one chance to stop that fleeting moment which could have altered our lives. 

Recently I got to thinking if that one moment was from some other world and if it was really worth anything. I don’t live with regrets because I don’t like to have them. I don’t have any to be really honest. I have lived a life that might be a bit complicated and might be totally screwed up but I don’t like to regret so I have tried and lived a life in which I wouldn’t have to regret. I have spent the past four years though, regretting one decision. I thought I could grow over it, but I doubt I can. I think I can’t get over it ever. 

I left. I left somebody and a place I loved more than anything in the world. Nothing good came out of it. Some people might look at it differently, and I will tell them to shut up because I know that the past four years that I have wondered and I guess I would spend more time wondering because the universe hates me and one can never go back. 

The one thing I just realized though was, I don’t ever want to regret. I don’t ever want to put everything on the line for what I want. If I can get what I want then I would rather have it than let it go. 

 

Leave a Reply

